Ralph Vaughan Williams

Riders to the Sea
Household Music
Flos Campi

St Nicolas' Hospital, Gosforth,
23. - 24. März 1995
Verlag: Chandos

Riders to the Sea, Oper in einem Akt (nach dem Stück von J.M. Synge)
Nora: Where is she?
Maurya: Isn't it turf enough you have
Bartley: Where is the bit of new rope, Cathleen
Maurya: He's gone now, God spare us
Cathleen: Wait, Nora, maybe she'd turn back quickly
Cathleen: You didn't give him his bit of bread?
Maurya: I went down to the spring well
Maurya: Bartley will be lost now
Maurya: They are all gone now
Maurya: And may he have mercy on my soul
Sopran: Ingrid Attrot (Nora), Lynn Dwason (Cathleen)
Bariton: Karl Morgan Daymond (Bartley)
Kontraalt: Linda Finnie (Maurya)
Mezzosopran: Pamela Helen Stephen (A Woman)
Chor: Sinfonia Chorus
Viola: Philip Dukes
Orchester: Northern Sinfonie
Dirigent: Richard Hickox

Household Music, Three preludes on Welsh hymn tunes
I. Crug-Y-Bar: Fantasia. Andante sostenuto
II. St. Denio: Scherzo. Allegro vivace
III. Aberystwyth: Variations. Theme: Lento
Orchester: Northern Sinfonie
Dirigent: Richard Hickox

Flos Campi, Suite für Solo-Viola, kleinen Chor und kleines Orchester
1. Sicut Lilium inter spinas, sic anima mea inter filias - Fulcite me floribus, stipate me malis, quia amore langueo. As the lily among thorns, so is my love among the daughters. . . Stay me with flagons, comfort me with apples; for I am sick with love. Lento (senza misura)
2. Iam enim hiems transit; imber abiit, et recessit; Flores apparuerunt in terra nostra, Tempus putationis advenit; Vox turturis audita est in terra nostra. - For, lo, the winter is past, the rain is over and gone, the flowers appear on the earth, the time of the singing of birds is come, and the voice of the turtle is heard in our land. Andante con moto
3. Quaesivi quem diligit anima mea; quaesivi illum, et non inventi. . . ''Adjuro vos filiae Jerusalem, si inveneritis dilectum meum, un nuntietis ei quia amore langueo'' - ''Quo abiit dilectus tuus, O pulcherrima mulierium? !Quo declinavit dilectus tuus? et quaeremus eum tecum.'' I sought him who my soul loveth, but I found him not. . . ''I charge you, O daughters of Jerusalem, if ye find my beloved, that ye tell him that I am sick with love.'' ''Whither is thy beloved gone, O thou fairest among women? Whither is thy beloved turned aside? that we may seek him with thee.''. Lento (senza misura) - Allegro moderato - Allargando
4. En lectulum Salomonis sexaginta fortes ambiunt. . . omnes tenentes gladios, et ad bella doctissimi. Behold his bed which is Solomon's, three score valiant men are about it. . . They all hold swords, being expert in war. Moderato alla marcia
5. Revertere, revertere Sulamitis! Revertere, revertere ut intueamur te, Quam pulchri sunt gressus tui in calceamentis, filia principis. Return, return, O Sulamite, Return, return that we may look upon thee. . . How beautiful are thy feet with shoes, O Prince's daughter. Andante quasi lento (Largamente)
6. Pone me ut signaculum super cor tuum. - Set me as a seal upon thine heart. Moderato tranquillo
Viola: Philip Dukes
Orchester: Northern Sinfonie
Dirigent: Richard Hickox